Hello everyone

• forlorngirl
  • forlorngirl's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

forlorngirl created the topic: Hello everyone

I hope I am doing this correctly. I have never posted in a forum before :) I am new to having my VERY own Oscar fish tank. My dad had them when I was a kid and one took a liking to me and would pout in the bottom of the tank til I got home from school and then get really happy to see me. I was a nerdy kid so needless to say, my best friend in the whole world at that age was a red oscar appropriately named RED :) (not very creative, I know)

The advice my dad gives me about my tank is minimal...he believes in trial and error (or success) so I am hoping for help on the site. For now Isaiah and Daniel are in a 30 gallon tank, both only an inch or so big and my sister is giving me her 100 gallon tank in exactly 10 days so I think they will be fine in the small one for now. I am so So SO excited.

So my first big question....How will I cycle my tank so I can put these little guys in it and how long will it take? I'm going to search the forum as I understand this is "please introduce yourself".

This is going to be great!!
Jody

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 253

DRACO replied the topic: Hello everyone

Hi Jody, welcome to the community....

with regards to your concern of cycling the incoming tank, you don't have to worry about it... just get another filter that will be suited for the incoming big tank, run it in parallel with the existing to seeded it with beneficial bacteria... and just run it to the new tank when it arrive... you don't have to wait cycling the tank.
The following user(s) said Thank You: forlorngirl

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: Hello everyone

Hi there Jody