Oscar Fish

• FishKeeper
  • FishKeeper's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

FishKeeper created the topic: Oscar Fish

Hello Everyone,
My tank dimensions are (36'' x 15'' x 18'' ) , I have kept fish in the past though i have no experience with an Oscar , I am fully aware of the fact that majority of the fish keepers recommend a minimum of 55 Gallon , and my question may sound very lame to many experienced hobbyists on this forum , but out of hope i thought to try my luck , is there any chance or possibility that can allow me to house a single Oscar in my tank for life with no tankmates at all ??.. , my tank has 3ft length and its width is 15'' , it has no decoration at all , its an empty tank with regular substrate and the filteration and i have no plans to add any type of decoration so that enough room in my tank is there for the O to swim (by enough i mean space in my small tank , i know enough space for an O is minimum 4 feet ).. I cant afford to upgrade my tank not at this point in time atleast , and i am very keen about these lovely creatures with so much of personality. Thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 196

UNC-CH replied the topic: Oscar Fish

I'd highly recommend against it. An oscar needs a 55 minimum ... and that's for himself without any tankmates. I understand your admiration for these fish - I'm the same way. I had mine alone in a 55 when I first got him as a baby and then I moved him to a 75 after a few months to give him more room. Oscars can get huge and produce a lot of waste. They really do need a large tank.

• Thank you received: 185

Lammergeier replied the topic: Oscar Fish

Hi,