silicon cement

• gweisner
  • gweisner's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

gweisner created the topic: silicon cement

I'm new at this. Just in process of setting up a 110 gal tank. Can I use standard silicon cement (caulking) to attempt to anchor down plastic plants etc. I think they use this stuff to seal tanks ??

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: Re:silicon cement

To be on the safe side, I would only use silicone cement that is made for fish tanks. The only time I have ever used silicone was to stick backgrounds to the tank. This was quite a few years ago and I remember being told to wait for it to dry: so I can honestly tell you what sort of silicon I used then: read the instructions very carefully, it should say whether it is suitable for use with fish tanks. But like I said, I would be inclined to buy purposely made silicone cement

I may not always be right, but I am always the BOSS :-)

• gweisner
  • gweisner's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

gweisner replied the topic: Re:silicon cement

Thanks, what you said makes sense.. I'll be careful.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL

probably better to be safe than sorry I would have thought

Joliet Jake replied the topic: Re:silicon cement

In my honest opinion, I am totally convinced there is nothing diffrent between aquarium grade silicone caulking and the regular clear silicone caulking sold for home or bathroom maintenance. I honestly believe and am personally convinced it's the exact same stuff (100%) except the special packaging that makes you mentally pay more for it. They key is to not only let it dry, but to let it cure and that time can be found on the container. It probably drys to the touch overnight but it may take several days to actually cure.