Researching Tank Mates While I Fishless Cycle

• Big_Chubbz
  • Big_Chubbz's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1

Big_Chubbz created the topic: Researching Tank Mates While I Fishless Cycle

I have just setup a 60gal (48"x24"x13") tank and am following this guide to cycle it. In the meantime, I am considering tank mates for a single Tiger Oscar. I'm new to this and have been following this article for guidance.

I know that I should probably have a slightly larger tank, but am prepared to deal with more frequent water changes or the addition of a secondary filter.

Based on my research, I'm wondering how well advised the following stock lists would be.

1st Choice
Oscar
Featherfin Cat
6-8 Glo-Tetras

2nd Choice
Oscar
Featherfin Cat
6 Giant Danio

3rd Choice
Oscar
Featherfin Cat
2 Firemouth or 2 Convicts or 1 Firemouth/1 Convict

The article mentions that larger tetras can be considered as tank mates and the Glo-Tetras get as big as Buenos Aires Tetras (3"), so I was hoping that they might work out. Plus my daughter would love the crazy colors. I would prepare her for the possibility that they might "start disappearing" as the article warns.

If my first choice is just too ill advised, would any of the other options be suitable? I kind of like the idea of having a mini-school of fish in there with the Oscar, and the Giant Danios were specifically recommended in the article (although categorized as 'less than ideal'). Again, I'd be prepared to find them snacked upon.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: Researching Tank Mates While I Fishless Cycle