new to oscars

• fishrenter
  • fishrenter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

fishrenter created the topic: new to oscars

Hi. I'm not new to big cichlids, but I am new to oscars. I'm getting ready to free-up my 60X18X20 tank and I want to raise a big ole puppy dog-like oscar in it. I have some of those red-finned silver dollars (6) and I may add some clown loaches. I have a grown bristlenose pleco in there.

Do the clown loaches make okay tankmates for the oscars?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: Re:new to oscars

Clown Loach make a very good tank mate. A few things to bear in mind. CL's like to be in groups. You shouldn't keep one on its own, they will probably get stressed if you do. If you do introduce clown Loach in with your Oscars, try and find some that are reasonably big because they will grow a lot slower than Oscars. Roughly, they probably grow around 1 inch every six months. They can also reach a maximum size of over 12 inches, although there will take a very very long time to reach this size. If you have six silver dollars and you are planning an Oscar, I really don't think you have any room for more fish

I may not always be right, but I am always the BOSS :-)

• fishrenter
  • fishrenter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor

fishrenter replied the topic: Re:new to oscars

I wuz gonna ditch the silver dollars if I got the clown loaches. I haven't really decided yet on what to do. Thanks for the reply.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL

OFL replied the topic: Re:new to oscars