My Tiger Oscar's Growth

• Phillipw311
  • Phillipw311's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3

Phillipw311 created the topic: My Tiger Oscar's Growth

Hello all! For those of you that may not know me I am fairly new to the Oscar fish world. This is my very first Oscar to own. A few months ago I set up my 55 gallon tank finally. I've always wanted an Oscar but never had anywhere close to enough water volume to house one happily. So, I finally got my Oscar. He is still a little baby, but he's growing FAST!!! My filtration is the following: 50 gallon standard HOB filter. 306 Fluval Canister. In my canister I deleted the water polishing pads & carbon filters and crammed as much biological media (BIOMAX) as I could in that space I cleared up. Here's some pictures of his growth rate thus far. I have officially had him for 7 weeks!! You guys were right. Throughout what little maturity and growth he's already undergone he's come a long ways but you all were right. He's still a baby and nowhere near fully grown and his colors have already changed substantially. I haven't posted anything in a while so I thought I'd post a few pictures of where he's at as of today. The first picture is from about a week after I got him and the second picture is from today which marks 6 weeks after the first one. HUGE color and size difference! Also, he's the only fish in my 55 gallon. No other tank mates.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: My Tiger Oscar's Growth

Blimey, he certainly changed in a week, it's amazing how fast they grow. Anyway, keep us updated with photos, I would really like to use them on the website, especially if we can get photos taken throughout a few months showing him from a small baby, right up to adulthood, that would be great.

I may not always be right, but I am always the BOSS :-)