First Oscar Aquarium!

• JamJar
  • JamJar's Avatar Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
  • Thank you received: 3

JamJar created the topic: First Oscar Aquarium!

Hey guys new here and i would like to quickly explain my reasons for falling in love with oscars! and then i will go on and on and on with questions as I've spent all day yesterday researching but can't find the answers in layman's language.. I'm looking for a straight answer lol :)

really short story really id never seen a oscar before at a decent size only babies in the shops.. i went home to england for a holiday and to see my friends.. one which happened to have a new 120gal tank with 5 oscars in there.. i know this is small for that many but there only 6-7 inches at the moment and 3 of them are just being fostered so will be leaving the tank soon. THERE amazing!!!!! couldn't keep my eyes off them! so! i got home and I'm now building my own Aquarium.

I don't need any help with the build as I'm a plumber/builder by trade and have made aquariums before so I've decided to make a beast! here is my project over the next week or so..

12mm thick glass

200cm Long
70 cm Hight
50cm Depth

this is 735L / 190 USgal.. but obviously i won't be filling to the rim so il say a safe 150-60 gals

i would go bigger but i have a wife that doesn't like fish lol…

first question is what is best for oscars… SAND? GRAVEL? PEBBLES? ROCKS? NOTHING?

i want to add a small rock cave at one end of the tank it will be mainly for visuals and some wood in the middle but not too much i don't want to restrict the space.. again IS THIS OK WITH OSCARS?