water issues - setting up new tank...?

• GrouchyDaryl1114
  • GrouchyDaryl1114's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

GrouchyDaryl1114 created the topic: water issues - setting up new tank...?

Hello everyone!

I am very new to the Oscar community but I have learned a lot from reading the forums on this site! great job!! now for my question...

We set up a small 10 gallon tank roughly 3 maybe 4 weeks ago. added 2 baby Oscars, unfortunately 1 passed away suddenly last week. We have been having a lot of water issues, trying to keep the water clean but it has been an ongoing issue (water changes every few days, adding bacteria to help, even bought distilled water thinking it was our tap water). Temp is around 78, we have a filter made for a 15 gallon tank, air bar with lots of bubbles. I own 2 turtle tanks and a small tank for an albino frog and have never had an issue like this. After reading up, we decided to make the switch to a bigger 60 gallon tank sooner rather than later. I have heard that having a larger tank is a lot easier to control the water then inside a 10 gallon. So our new setup... 60 gallon tank and we purchased an Eheim Ecco Aquarium filter (made to filter 80 gallons) to help clear the water better. How should we go about this? the 10 gallon is getting cloudier by the day.. and I just want to set up the new tank and get the little guy some fresh clean water. Does anyone have any tips or tricks for me to get a nice looking tank?? I feel like giving up but I really love this Oscar and would love to give him the proper home for a long time! unfortunately, our current location is going to cause us to not be able to cycle the new tank... am I going to kill the fish if we put him right into the new tank?

I appreciate any advice, tips or tricks you can give me.

Thanks in advance,
Jessica, Justin and Daryl :-)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 185