New to Oscar and need help

• avikool
  • avikool's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

avikool created the topic: New to Oscar and need help

Hi all,

I'm new to fish keeping and read a few thing about aquariums etc.
I have two 2" long oscars in a small 14G aquarium along with 2 parrot fish...now I know its not the good way to go about, the guy at the pet shop didnt advise correctly.
Two parrots are kind aggressive with the oscars, they are about the same size of the oscars...I have an oscar with what looks like some scales gone, due to attacks from the parrot fish.
Now I am setting up another smaller tank that I was lent to me to move the two parrot a bit later today. I will take some of the current aquarium water to the new smaller one for the parrots.
This will leave some room for my 2 oscars. I am planning on building my own midsize aquarium soon, like in a week or two to be able to move the oscars.
I am looking at building an 85G-100G tank and I a bit confused about the dimensions, should I go with a 36"(L) x 24"(W) x 24"(H) or 48"(L) x 24"(W) x 18"(H)
Can someone advise me on that.
Also, maybe I would want to add a couple of smaller fish later in the tank.
I am kind of confused also about water cycling, I use anti-chlorinating solution like stress coat, would that be enough?
Thanks a lot

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: New to Oscar and need help

Oh dear, the guy obviously doesn't know what he's talking about if you let you put two Oscars in such a small aquaria, even though they are very small at the moment.

You have got for semi-aggressive fish living in a tiny environment, it can only end in disaster if you don't act quickly.