Hello newbie here want to learn

• pjp3oscars
  • pjp3oscars's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1

pjp3oscars created the topic: Hello newbie here want to learn

New to this,just now found where you can type. Hello everyone, I have one 3" tiger oscar at this time, need to learn as much as possible. Have a 55gallon tank. Just starting out. Do want to get more, like 6 or so. Need to know the ideas for the decorative items and arrangements. Talk 2me.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 40

face mcshooty replied the topic: Hello newbie here want to learn

welcome to oscar fish lovers :) the first thing you should now is that a 55 gallon is one big enough for a single oscar nothing else in fact you might want to upgrade to a 75 gallon ones he gets bigger i know the tank sems big know but trust me when i say it won't for long

as for decorations less is more oscars like swimming room so whatever you put in there keep it simple

out of curiosity did you circle the tank?

Don't dwell on what went wrong. Instead focus on what to do next

• pjp3oscars
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

pjp3oscars replied the topic: Hello newbie here want to learn

Yes I cycled the tank. That was a chore it did not want to cycle, but after a month it finually cycled. Started the tank 5 smaller fish, of which I took back to the pet store after 3weeks.

Love fish the OCARS are a nice friendly fish, as the one tiger oscar I have, when I clean tank it will follow my hand the whole time, come near the tank it looks at me & follows me, did not know fish are like that.

So if I want to breed like 6 to 8 pairs I need a 200gallon tank for each pair? That's near crazy. Can you house 2 in a 75 gallon tank ?

• Thank you received: 18

turtle lover replied the topic: Hello newbie here want to learn

Oscars are ok with no decoration, but if you want, bogwood and sand might be your first choice.