Newbie setting up 165G oscar tank. How much more work is it?

• THQ
  • THQ's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

THQ created the topic: Newbie setting up 165G oscar tank. How much more work is it?

Hi all, I'm from Australia, nice to meet you all. I am a beginner and only have 6 months fishkeeping experience, with my low tech planted nanos:
5G (RCS + oto)
10G (BWT/BST + WCMMs)

However, I have read extensively on the hobby and am very comfortable doing fishless cycling, checking water parameters, doing PWCs, etc.

I have finally saved up for my main tank, which will be just under 6x2x2.

Filtration: 2 x Eheim 2217s with included substratpro media (yet to buy).

Lighting: Aquaone Plantglo LEDs (2 x 4 ft with overlap). I bought these on sale when I thought I was going to get a 4 ft planted.

Substrate: 2mm fine natural/beige coloured gravel

Water: my aged, primed tap water is acidic and very soft (pH 6.6-6.8, dKH < 3, GH/KH < 50 ppm)

I originally intended to go community planted tank filled with aquarium plants and cheap, hardy, peaceful schooling fish that were happy to take pellet and flake food. However, on a recent trip to my LPS I saw a cute juvenile red tiger oscar (4 inch) that I just fell instantly fell in love with. He/she seemed to follow me around the tank and look at me. It was the first time I actually had the feeling a fish was trying to interact with me. After doing some research, it appears that if I want to keep him, I have to completely rethink my 165G (basically none of my previous fish, and no plants). There is no option for me to get a 4th tank.

1 Red tiger oscar
1 Severum
1 Firemouth
1 BGK
3 Clown loach

Aqadvisor says my stocking capacity is 111%