New Oscar Tank, 75 gallon - questions regarding set up

• Fengoat
  • Fengoat's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Fengoat created the topic: New Oscar Tank, 75 gallon - questions regarding set up

Howdy all,

I'm fairly new to the aquarium shindig, but I've been researching on Oscars for nearly six weeks. On impulse, I picked up a 75 gallon tank with a stand for about 100 usd. Barely used, in good shape. I've now decided to follow through on getting an Oscar. I'll still need a few things, which I'm still unsure on.

Thus far, I have pool filter sand for substrate and a pair Eheim 2215 filters. I believe the filtration should be sufficient. I'm also planning on picking up two 150w heaters--non glass of course. Python water siphon and glass cover are inbound--it's an aqueon tank, so there's stuff made for it at least. So my questions are relatively simple and straightforward.

1) LED lighting - I'm not going to make this a planted tank for obvious reasons. What would be recommended for a lighting rig for an Oscar that wouldn't bother the fish? They like low light conditions, but I'd like to at least see the lug. Would a system that shifts between normal and simulated moonlight be appreciated by the fish?

2) Tank Mates - Everything I've read suggests a 75 gallon is recommended for a single Oscar and no tank mates. I have a soft spot for pictus catfish and I wanted to have some, but I don't want to stress the Oscar or make things difficult for my filter setup to handle. Should I skip the shoal of pictus this time around or is there an exception to certain cases?

3) Items in tank - So I know most fish like to have a safe spot to hide in, but I rarely see an Oscar tank with anything large enough to hide in. Is that normal for them to be out in the open all the time? Should I just accommodate the tank with things the fish can move do it can do what it wants with the uh..."decorating"?