250lt to small??

• Mik3y88
  • Mik3y88's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Mik3y88 created the topic: 250lt to small??

Hi all
I'm new to Oscar fish but had tanks for a couple of years. Recently purchased a 250 litre tank, I was hoping to house a single oscar as I love the idea of a wet pet. However I have been told by a few different people that my tank wouldn't be big enough for an adult oscar despite most sites this one included saying a 55g (around 210lt) is the minimum which is why I went for the 250lt.
Is this true?? Would a adult oscar be ok in my tank.
If not could you recommend any other 'wet pets' for my tank.
Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: 250lt to small??

250 UK litre is actually slightly under what we would recommend for one single adult Oscar. However, with good filtration and plenty of tank maintenance you would probably be able to keep the fish injured condition.

If this is the largest tank you can have then I would probably point you in the direction of smaller cichlids that you can buy. There are quite a lot that don't get any bigger than 6 inches. Your tank would be much better suited to the smaller species of cichlids backspace.

I may not always be right, but I am always the BOSS :-)

• Thank you received: 581

Suprd71 replied the topic: 250lt to small??