• Darth Nandopsis
  • Darth Nandopsis's Avatar Topic Author
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Dark Lord of the Fish
  • Thank you received: 441

Darth Nandopsis created the topic: Tetra 60 Powerfilter

Sent this to Tetra Corporate contact on their homepage:

Why & when did you discontinue making the Whisper 5? This was a GREAT filter, & very good for large tanks. Also, I just bought & returned the "quiet" Whisper 60; the impeller well made so much noise I could hear it in another room. Anything but quiet. (FYI, the noise was coming from the impeller well, sounded like it never got all the air out of it, but there was no air). I've been keeping fish for 42 years, both professionally & as a hobby, & the quality of the Tetra brand is lacking tremendously in the last few years. Google reviews of your filters & see. The "knock-offs" that are made of your filters are really better made & a higher quality in today's market. I used to be a Tetra user almost exclusively on filters, & after this, I can't say I'll use them anymore.

THOSE WHO REFUSE KNOWLEDGE ARE DOOMED TO FAIL.

WATER CHANGES ARE THE LIFEBLOOD OF THIS HOBBY. IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE SO OR SIMPLY DON'T FEEL LIKE DOING THEM, RE-HOME YOUR FISH, SELL YOUR AQUARIUM & FIND ANOTHER HOBBY, AS YOU WILL FAIL UTTERLY, COMPLETELY, & MISERABLY.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 877

Rocksor replied the topic: Tetra 60 Powerfilter

what names are the knock offs?

• Darth Nandopsis
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Dark Lord of the Fish

Darth Nandopsis replied the topic: Tetra 60 Powerfilter

Topfin. Used to be sold by Petsmart, exactly like the Whisper series, as a matter of fact, the cartridges that came w/ it said Whisper on them, but they are very quiet, these new ones are LOUD.

The one Walmart currently carries....Aquatech....saw one the other day, it's a whole lot like the Whispers, even has the "bio-sponge" thing that goes in front of the cartridge.