New to oscars and my little ones isn't happy

• Angela.conway
  • Angela.conway's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Angela.conway created the topic: New to oscars and my little ones isn't happy

Hey there all I just bought a tank and an oscar 11 days ago. It is my very first time having a tank and so I didn't know what I was doing. I asked the store employee what I need to do but after reading this website I realize I was quite wrong. Anyway my little 4 inch oscar named Happy is not living up to his name. He did great at first and acted like a puppy when he saw me but now he's not eating and is sulking in the corner. I took my water to a pet store who tested it and said my ammonia was high and gave me this liquid to add to my water. Was this the right thing to do? I want to save Happy and have a very happy oscar. Please help

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 578

Suprd71 replied the topic: New to oscars and my little ones isn't happy

Hello Angela and welcome to OFL. You have an uncycled tank, more specifically an unseeded filter. You have no beneficial bacteria to process the ammonia being produced by your fish. What did the store give you to put in the tank? Exact brand name please. Also tell us the size of your tank and size and brand of your filter. Several steps you must take, but the more info we start with, the better we can begin

I may not be the Boss, but I'm ALWAYS right!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Angela.conway

• Angela.conway
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

Angela.conway replied the topic: New to oscars and my little ones isn't happy

The store told me I'd be ok with a 10 gallon so that's what I have. I know now That's not ok and will get a 55 gallon as soon as I can. They told me to put prime in my tank. And I don't know the filter it came with my tank. It's black, hangs inside the tank and produces a waterfall