new oscar

• yobejoe
  • yobejoe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

yobejoe created the topic: new oscar

Im new to this form so hello everyone :). Okay so right now i am terrified i love oscars and ive always loved fish i have an aquarium with 3 parrot fish and 2 gouramis and an angel fish, i saw a oscar at pet smart ( i know they keep their fish in bad conditions ect) but he was beautiful he is a tiger oscar and has alot of patterning through out his body when i bought him i knew he had a cloudy eye but i planed on helping him get bettet if possible but now my parrots have picked on him amd hes missing a alot of scales and has never ate since i have him and he leans to his side abit and is very inactive (ive had him for 2 days)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: new oscar

Welcome to our community. I'm assuming that your aquarium is well-established and water conditions are good? In cases like this we always ask people to test their water and post the results so we can see for ourselves. So if you haven't got a water test kit you will need one, or take a sample of water to the fish store and they will probably be quite happy to do it for you. We looking for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH. In an established aquarium whether biological filter is working properly the ammonia and nitrite must be zero all the time. If there's any sign of nitrite or ammonia then there may be an imbalance or a problem somewhere.

Also, how big is your aquarium, it's important that you have the correct size aquarium in order to keep an Oscar fish.