• mary93
  • mary93's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

mary93 created the topic: Psycologically damaged oscars :(

:unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure:

Hi everyone!

I am new to being an oscar mumma (I've only had them since January), my fish are still fairly young and only measure at 10-15 centimeters.

Anyway a week or so ago my roommate thought it would be funny to walk up to my tank holding a taxidermy crocodile head. This scared the absolute shit out of my fish and created instant chaos in the tank.. fish were all looking for somewhere to hide and were smashing into the tank walls ect.

I obviously wasn't happy with it because like any good fish owner i dont enjoy seeing my aqua bebes distressed. The whole crocodile thing would have lasted probably no longer than 20 seconds as i was pretty slow to realise what was happening. But since the incident my fish have not been the same. They used to be playful and curious and swim up to you when you came up to the tank but now instead they lurk in the shadows and hide.

When i feed them i like to sometimes put my hand in the water so they can swim up without any fear and eat from my hand, i tried to do this the other day without thinking anything about it and as soon as i got too close to the water they reacted just as they did when the initially saw the crocodile. It took them a couple of minutes to calm down enough to even bother with their breakfast.

I'm really worried. Especially because lately ive noticed they've been having random unprovoked freakouts which is also making them injure themselves. I came home yesterday to find that one of fish was missing a chunk between his eyes.. the only thing i can guess it was from was if they had had one of their freakout episodes and he panicked and his head when he was trying to get into my plecos pvc pipe/dark place.