I think my Oscar has hole in the head and I can't get him to eat

• Da Grump
  • Da Grump's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Da Grump created the topic: I think my Oscar has hole in the head and I can't get him to eat

Help please I am new to Oscar's. I think mine has Hole in the head and have been treating him with MetroPlex following the instructions on the package carefully. He spends most of his time on the bottom of the tank and I can't get him to eat. He is in a 75 gallon tank. Have not tested the ph and other chemical balances yet waiting for Amazon to deliver. Anything I can do to entice him to eat?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 4

Shaun70 replied the topic: I think my Oscar has hole in the head and I can't get him to eat

If you have not tested the water for any of the required parameters, its guessing. But my guess is that if he's off color, you have issues with water quality. We really need more info and a bit of history.

• Thank you received: 253

DRACO replied the topic: I think my Oscar has hole in the head and I can't get him to eat

how long have you been keeping your fish?
when was the tank set up?
putting med to uncycled tank is a waste of resources.

welcome to the community.

• Thank you received: 578

Suprd71 replied the topic: I think my Oscar has hole in the head and I can't get him to eat

Hello and welcome to the site. When in doubt, do a large water change. Use quality conditioner if necessary(city water with chlorine) Use conditioner anyways until you can determine water parameters. Also please, offer as much info as you possibly can about the fish, tank, filters, everything. The more we know, the easier help can be offered.

I may not be the Boss, but I'm ALWAYS right!

• Da Grump
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder

Da Grump replied the topic: I think my Oscar has hole in the head and I can't get him to eat