Stupid newb just discovered the master kit...

• dsmalex97
  • dsmalex97's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

dsmalex97 created the topic: Stupid newb just discovered the master kit...

Well if any of you read my previous post you know I am an uninformed buyer from petsmart. Bought an Oscar told they don't need anything bigger then a 40 gallon when they get big. Didn't know I was supposed to do frequent water changes...the list goes on.

Right now Murphy is in a 20 gallon tank...SOOO small....I know. I got either a 75 gallon, or 150 gallon in store for him. So no worries. It's just a matter of time and money, which should take maybe 4 weeks. I would have been planning before if I knew trust me...

Anyways, I got a master test (api) kit today and discovered my nitrates were really high. Like 80ppm high...So I did 2 50% water changes while the filter was running(back to back). They're still high so I need to figure something out for Mr. Murphy!

I tested tap, and it's fine in all departments. I did all of the other tests on tank water and it all seems good. Just really high nitrates. Ammonia was coming up, but at a low level. When I say low it was basically the color of the lowest on the picture scale most of the time. PH was 7.6. Everything was fine except nitrated before water change fyi.

Filter is a fluval 205, 20 gal tank, sand, Chinese Algae eater (small), and some decorations.

I already know the tank is way too small. And I'm going to address it asap, but I need to get something figured out until then. I was thinking of just removing everything from the tank, no decorations, and just water and Murph. I want to replace all of the water with new water and just keep a close watch on it until I get the big tank. But I hear 100% water changes are bad? I do them all of the time on my little guppy fluval edge tank...Whoops! How come I've gotten away with it this long??