Fish in cycling and high nitrites

• Larinda
  • Larinda's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Larinda created the topic: Fish in cycling and high nitrites

I am new to this and due to my Oscar being in an emergency situation, I had to do a fish in cycle.
My tank is finally cycling and I am in the process of getting a 75g aquarium.
My ammonia is below.25, but nitrites are still at least 2.0, I have been doing 50 to 75% water changes daily for weeks.
How long will my nitrites be high?

I am using Prime with every water change.
My O is active and eating well and the wounds he had when I got him have healed. We also overcame a case if ick several weeks ago.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• smokeryoudrinkplayeryouget
  • User is blocked
  • User is blocked
  • Thank you received: 8

smokeryoudrinkplayeryouget replied the topic: Fish in cycling and high nitrites

prime lasts 48 hours so only need to do water changes every other day. nitrite being 2.0 suggest you need to be doing larger water changes. i would be doing 70 to 80% or fin level, cycling can take up to 8 weeks, specially with fish in. Showing nitrite does show that its getting there, you are on the down hill side of it i would say.

• Thank you received: 583

Suprd71 replied the topic: Fish in cycling and high nitrites

I would remain on a daily w/c schedule. Nitrites of 2.0 are more dangerous than ammonia of .25. You will always have an slight ammonia reading, even when using Prime, as Prime doesn't "erase" ammonia, rather binds it into ammonium. I have several large tanks, I do aggressive, frequent changes and always have trace amounts of ammonia. Its never a pure zero. I would want to keep those nitrites low, and until you see some signs of nitrate, daily changes as you have been doing are the way to do that.

I may not be the Boss, but I'm ALWAYS right!
The following user(s) said Thank You: Larinda

• smokeryoudrinkplayeryouget