new tank no readings

• zeke
  • zeke's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

zeke created the topic: new tank no readings

So I got a new api master test kept and in the new tanks I get no reading for nitrate and ammonia at all they have been in the tanks for a few days

EDIT:

I moved this into the appropriate category. Please ensure your put your posts where they belong, this is for official announcements only.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 203

Big-Ken replied the topic: Re:Re: new tank no readings

Is the tank cycled?? And you sure you following the directions exactly?? The ammonia, nitrite, and ph test are pretty straight forward but the nitrate test is very important to follow the directions exactly as written. Regent nitrate tests are questionable and semi unreliable even if the directions are followed and junk if you cut corners, when you shake bottle 2 do it very aggressive to the point of banging it on your hand or a table top the reason being is the regent in bottle 2 will seperate and harden up some in crystals you need to bust up those crystals to get an accurate test

• Thank you received: 60

MetalHead88 replied the topic: Re:Re: new tank no readings

no reading means 0?

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: Re:Re: new tank no readings

Stupid question I know, have you got fish in the aquarium?

I may not always be right, but I am always the BOSS :-)

• Thank you received: 877

Rocksor replied the topic: new tank no readings

Test your tap water to have a baseline water parameter going into the fish tank. Let a cup of tap water sit out for 1 day.