New Albino Oscar Water Levels

• Crystal_33
  • Crystal_33's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Crystal_33 created the topic: New Albino Oscar Water Levels

I am new to Oscar ownership and after the first one we bought died I am trying to be extra cautious with our new arrival. The previous Oscar was also an albino but was much smaller than this one and not nearly as active. I am no sure but think he may have been sick when we brought him home and only lasted 5 days before i found him at the bottom barely moving and soon after he died. The albino we purchased Friday looked and behaved so differently its hard to believe they came from the same store. The new guy is very active and a great eater. My question really is exactly what my water levels should be at and how to maintain them so that we dont wind up with another dead Oscar.

The tank is a 65 gallon long and was cycled for 4 weeks with approx. 30 guppies in it which have now been moved to other tanks as this guy seems to be quite content on his own.
Filtration right now is 2 - 40-60g HOB filters which will be changed to an external cartridge filter within the next couple weeks

Ammonia - 0
Nitrate - 10
Nitrite - 0.1
pH - 7.5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 581

Suprd71 replied the topic: New Albino Oscar Water Levels