Jewel Cichlid

• GeorgeP
  • GeorgeP's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 29

GeorgeP created the topic: Jewel Cichlid

Hi everyone,

So here's the situation. I have a 30 gallon tank with 2 zebra peacock's and a Jewel. I bought the fish when I still didn't know all that much about Cichlids, I thought they were pretty, and I wanted to contrast my Oscar tank a bit. but now I'm not sure if there's enough room. I got lucky on getting all African's on accident, but now I read online that I should overcrowd them to disperse aggression in a small tank. Any advice on what to do, even if its do nothing, is appreciated, I've never done African's before.

Thanks,
George

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• ehall67
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Ohio Cichlid Association Chairmen
  • Thank you received: 439

ehall67 replied the topic: Re: Jewel Cichlid

What is the footprint for the 30 gal tank

The Confidence of Amateurs, is the Envy of Professionals

• Matt
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Serrasalmus Rhombeus, any questions?
  • Thank you received: 151

Matt replied the topic: Re: Jewel Cichlid

As long as you only have the 1 jewel, you should be ok. I ended up with a breeding pair, that was hell in that tank, ended up getting them their own tank.

cebosound wrote: Waterchange, Waterchange, waterchange... till your knuckles are bleeding. ;) :lol:

My youtube page www.youtube.com/user/rwhp550?feature=mhee

• ehall67
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder

when over crowding a African tank from what i understand you are still looking about about a 4 foot width in the tank

• GeorgeP
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder

GeorgeP replied the topic: Re: Jewel Cichlid

lolz matt, thats why I'm staying away from pairs. I'm pretty sure both my peacocks are males, dodged another bullet there

tank foot print is 30"x 12"

• ehall67
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder