HITH problem, tried everything

• VonDutch
  • VonDutch's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1

VonDutch created the topic: HITH problem, tried everything

Hi guys,

First off, let me introduce myself. I am a 24 year old guy from holland with a passion for fishkeeping. I have a few tanks with the usual stuff (guppies, platys, small cichlids etc) and they are running perfectly for the last couple of years. I've been doing this for 10 years now and learned a lot, always trying to improve things and never running into problems.

2 years ago I wanted to buy a big tank but didn't really know yet what to put in it. As soon as I discovered the Oscar fish I was sold, this was going to be it. It seemed like the perfect next level step in fishkeeping. I spent the next weeks learning about these fish. I soon discovered that there are 2 types of oscar fish owners: the ones that do it right and the ones that do literally everything wrong. Ofcourse I wanted to belong to the first group and did everything I could think of to create a perfect home for him. I have been reading on this forum for quite some time, but now I am at a point that I just need to make a topic about my problem. I know you guys like a lot of data/pics etc. so let's begin. I'll post data in litres/gallons and cm/inches so all of you can understand.

Tanksize: 350 litres / 92 gallon. The Oscar is in here all by himself, as it should be.
Filtration: internal + external filter, a total of 2200l/h or 581g/l of filtration
Bottom: White sand, with some slate rock and wood. No plants
Lighting: LED lights with a controller (gives a really cool day/night cyclus with sunrise, moonlight etc)
Water changes: every other day a bottom vaccuum to get the big pieces of poo away, 2 times a week a 50% water change + stirring up the sand.
Water parameters (tested with a drop test kit):
- PH 7.5
- GH 8.0
- KH 10.0
- Ammonia, nitrites, nitrates never detected, always 0