My new Oscar! Help?

• VannahBanana
  • VannahBanana's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

VannahBanana created the topic: My new Oscar! Help?

I set up my 55 gallon fish tank two weeks ago (Which I've used before) and it has two whisper filters, a heater, and rocks at the bottom. I bought an albino Oscar Tiger fish yesterday at petco and the little guy is about 1.75 inches long. I didn't get a second one because I wasn't sure how big the tank needed to be for two. I'm new to Oscars, I've only had bettas and goldfish before. So if anyone could give me some advice on how to give him the best life possible that would be swell! :laugh: He just seems to be hiding behind the filter and hanging out near the top of the tank. But when I try to feed him, he seems uninterested. He has chichlid pellets and live mealworms and he doesn't eat either of them. I might get some live feeder fish or something later today, But the associate at petco said he was eating flakes before I bought him. So should I keep feeding him flakes? And what about him hiding so much?? :ohmy:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 8

Vinny replied the topic: Re:My new Oscar! Help?

I'd the tank cycled 55? gallons is bare minimum if not a tad too small for a single adult Oscar alone in a tank. Not eating right away Is common. Not sure on your filters to know if they supply enough filtration. Oscars are messy

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: My new Oscar! Help?