My Oscar has insane appetite. How to regulate it?

• Chicker
  • Chicker's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0

Chicker created the topic: My Oscar has insane appetite. How to regulate it?

Hi All,

I'm new here. I'm from Philippines. I've got my Oscars from a local pet store when they were still Juvenile.
I'm not a professional fish keeper but trying to know the do's and dont's on taking care of my beloved Oscars.
Hope someone can help me on this one.
I've got 3 Oscars, They swim on 3 separate tanks.
They're all at the same age and length of about 8-9inches.
Two of them eat regularly, however the other one is not.
Now this concerns me the most. Two consumes about 3-5pcs live fish feeders a day.
However, the other one is insanely feeding around 10-13pcs a day.
I want to lessen it but I'm afraid that he might starve and weaken him. There's also a Juvenile (2inch) Flowerhorn swimming with him on the same tank and it's the same size of the live fish feeders I drop on his tank.
Everyday he consumes all of the feeders and leave the flowerhorn aside. It's kinda weird because he likes to eat but for some reason he always leave the flowerhorn alone.

Is there something wrong with him or its just normal? Any inputs are welcome! Thanks and have a great day!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• OFL
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Founder of OFL
  • Thank you received: 414

OFL replied the topic: My Oscar has insane appetite. How to regulate it?

Welcome to our community.

Are you putting in quite a lot of feeders at once? If you only want your fish to eat four, then only put 4n, it's as simple as that.

Having said this, feeding live fish to your Oscars is not something we really recommend, unless you have bred them yourself, so no they are absolutely healthy and you won't be passing anything nasty onto your Oscar.